CLP Nomination Meeting


For those not present at the special general meeting of Lancaster & Fleetwood CLP held on Friday 22 July 2016, in Lancaster Methodist Church, here's a summary of the outcome. The members eligible to participate and vote were all current CLP members who had been Labour Party members continuously since joining before 13 January 2016, excluding those in arrears on their membership subs but including those who had recently paid up their arrears. The rules for such meetings as set out by NEC were followed. Prior to the formal proceedings there was informal discussion while people had an opportunity to read the two candidates' official statements.

Total eligible members – 778; Eligible members present – 101; Turnout - 13.0%

In the chair: Alison Love

Tellers: Billy Glasgow, James Groves, Erica Lewis, Cat Smith and Tom Sweeney

Contributions heard from: Josh Brandwood, Brian Stephenson, Peter Stephenson, Joel Evans, Romy Clark, Jonathan Maher, Rob Devey, Ian Barker, Sue McCormick, Allen Knott, Tom Sweeney, Alistair Sinclair, Bob Clark, Evelyn Stephenson, John Chell, Cathy Hornby and Jeremy Bateman

Votes cast:

Jeremy Corbyn - 71

Owen Smith - 30

Spoilt - 0

Jeremy Corbyn was duly nominated for the leadership. As we stressed at the meeting, when it comes to the actual election, members are free to vote for whichever candidate they wish! 

When we have a list of other CLP nominations we will give a link here.

Currently the New Statesman has a list they are updating ....

Do you like this post?

As with most websites, we will place cookies on your computer to help make your visit to this site better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.